Five Questions around Big Data

Jnan Dash's Weblog

Data is the new currency of business and we are in the era of data-intensive computing. Much has been written on Big Data throughout 2012 and customers around the world are struggling to figure out its significance to their businesses. Someone said there are 3 I’s to Big Data

  • Immediate (I must do something right away)
  • Intimidating (what will happen if I don’t take advantage of Big Data)
  • Ill-defined (the term is so broad that I’m not clear what it means).

In this blog post, I would like to pose five key questions that customers must find answers to with regards to Big Data. So here goes.

1. Do I understand my data and do I have a data strategy?

There are varieties of data – customer transaction data, operational data, documents/emails and other unstructured data, clickstream data, sensor data, audio streams, video streams, etc. Do I have a clear…

View original post 553 more words

Leave a Reply

